Welcome to the City of Aurora

The City of Aurora is located in the great State of Texas.  Aurora is nestled quietly between the cities of Rhome and Boyd, on Highway 114, in Southeast Wise County.  Aurora was once the largest city in Wise County, with a population over 4,000 persons in the late 1800’s.  It was home to many businesses, including dry goods, furniture, feed and grocery stores, a farrier, multiple pharmacies, shoemaker, blacksmith shop, post office, barbershop, a hotel and six saloons.

Today, Aurora is again growing.  Our population is just over 1, 400 persons.  Aurora is a Type A General Law municipality, operating under the aldermanic form of government. The City is sectioned into three wards, with two representative council members from each area.

The phenomenal working relationship between the Mayor, City Council,  Planning and Zoning Commission and Historic Preservation Commission, has allowed Aurora to begin redevelopment of the “Old Town Square.” There are many bright things on the horizon for Aurora, as we return to our western heritage and embrace the history of “The Town that Almost Wasn’t.”


Event Calendar
News & Announcements

Aurora Ballpark Reopens on January 28th

November 22nd, 2016 - The Aurora Ballpark reopens for practice on January 28th.  Please contact Chad... Read More ›

Annual Food and Toy Drive

November 21st, 2016 - Please help us help those in need.  The City of Aurora is once again hosting a... Read More ›

Thanksgiving Closure

November 21st, 2016 - City offices will be closed Wednesday, November 23rd through Friday, November... Read More ›