Aurora Municipal Court
303 Derting Rd
Aurora, TX – 76078
Citation Window Hours
Monday to Friday
You must appear ON OR BEFORE the date listed on the bottom of your citation.
Notice of Alternatives to Full Payment of Fines or Costs:
If you are convicted of an offense and are unable to pay the fine and court costs, you may have the court assess your ability to pay and the court may provide alternatives to full payment in satisfying the judgment.*
*Fulfillment of HB351; Code of Criminal Procedure 14.06(b)
Aurora Municipal Court
Judge: Craig Magnusson
Deputy Court Clerk: Lynnell Day
Functions & Services
The Aurora Municipal Court is a Court of Record. The Court serves to interpret and adjudicate applicable state laws, and supports the local community by providing efficient and effective services through the promotion of justice.
The Court serves the citizens of Aurora in an accountable, efficient, and independent manner. In addition to providing fair and equal access to all citizens, the Court also strives to facilitate the timely disposition of cases with prompt and courteous service.
Frequently Asked Questions
If this citation is for failing to display proof of insurance and you can show proof of coverage on the date of citation issuance, the citation will be dismissed.
If your citation is for an expired inspection sticker, and it is renewed within 20 working days and was not expired more than sixty days, the Judge may charge a $20 administration fee and dismiss the violation.
If your citation is for an expired registration sticker, and it is renewed and the penalty fee is paid with the tax assessor collector’s office within 20 working days, the judge may charge a $20 administration fee and dismiss the violation.
Proof must be delivered to the court office within the first 15 days after receiving your citation. If you fail to provide proof as required, a Failure to Appear (FTA) charge will be levied and can result in an additional fine.
About the Course
Note: Do not take the course before obtaining court approval.
If charged with a traffic offense under the Subtitle C, Transportation Code, a request may be made to take a driving safety course. This option will result in a dismissal once you have complied with all the terms.
You are eligible for a Driving Safety Course if:
- You do not possess a Commercial driver’s license.
- You have not completed a Driving Safety Course for ticket dismissal in the previous 12 months.
- You have a valid Texas driver’s license or permit.
- You have valid proof of insurance showing you as a covered driver.
- Your violation was not in a construction / work zone with workers present.
- Your citation was for a moving violation.
- Your actual speed must be less than 25mph over the speed limit (if cited for speeding).
Within 15 days from the date of offense, mail, or bring the five items listed below to the court and upon approval, the court will grant permission to take the course. If applying by mail, please wait to receive permission from the court before taking the course.
If you are eligible, you may sign up for a Driving Safety Course by sending the following five items to the court or appearing at the court on or before your appearance date:
- A copy of your valid insurance showing you as a covered driver
- A copy of your valid Texas driver’s license
- Required fees: $110
- The Driving Safety Course Affidavit Form
- The Driving Safety Course request Form
Upon Course Completion
You have 90 days to allow the driver to complete the course, receive a certified driving record copy from the Department of Public Safety and complete the course. Upon submission of your driving record and proof of course completion, the citation will be dismissed.
Deferred disposition is up to six-months unsupervised probation. During the deferral period, you cannot receive another violation of the same nature. To qualify for deferred disposition, you cannot currently be on a deferred disposition program at this court or any other court. You cannot have completed a deferred disposition program in the last 12 months.
If you qualify, fill out an application for deferred disposition. You will be required to pay the applicable special expense fee and state costs at the time of the application.
If you would like to know what the total special expense fee and state costs will be prior to your coming into the office and completing an application, you may call 817.636.2783.
How can I clear a warrant?
If your citation is in warrant status, you may have the warrant cleared by one of the following:
- Paying the fine amount in the form of money order, cashier check, MasterCard, or Visa
- Posting an attorney bond
- Posting a cash bond
** WE DO NOT ACCEPT CASH**
The History of “Ned,” our Alien.
On April 17th,1897, local lore tells of a "cigar shaped" spaceship crashing into a windmill belonging to a local Judge, a man by the name of J.S. Proctor. The local towns people report discovering a deceased alien creature in the crash debris. The pilot of this craft was given "proper burial" in the Aurora Cemetery. A Texas Historic Monument briefly describes the event. Learn More ›